Home

It’s now been several months since I arrived back home after my trip with my sister to Morocco and Spain.  I’ve struggled with starting to write about the holiday and only today have I felt like I have anything to say.  On my previous holidays, I sought out computers in hotels and internet cafes to write immediately about my experiences, and post as I went, keeping family and friends updated.  However I think I saw only one internet cafe on my entire trip and NONE of our hotels had computers for guest use.  Before you write off Morocco as being an isolated country with no internet, you should know that EVERYWHERE had wifi and cell service for people with data was excellent.  Unfortunately I’m “old fashioned” enough that I still take pictures on an actual camera and desire to type on an actual keyboard.  So . . . . here we are, months later starting the story of my trip.

We opted to see Morocco as part of a tour with Intrepid (I believe I will do a separate post specifically all about how I felt about the tour), and things kicked off from Casablanca.  There is really nothing for me to say about Casablanca because we went straight from the airport to the hotel, had our tour orientation, and then departed the next morning.  I will note that our time in Morocco spanned the last week in February and the first week in March and I think this worked out to be a good choice.  There is a lot of people with doom and gloom prophecies on the cold, poor weather in Morocco in February, but I can only assume that either those people had an unlucky visit or our time was unseasonably good.  Aside from one rainy day and a few cool nights, the weather was great.

DSC00158

This is the view from our hotel in Casablanca. Not a promising beginning in my opinion. It kind of reminded me of Greece – grey and concrete.

Our first port of call was Rabat.  We travelled by train from Casablanca to Rabat, and like the above picture, the ride did nothing to endear the country.  Although I realize that generally trains don’t pass through the most picturesque locals, there was again an impression of grey, concrete and general disarray.  We arrived in Rabat to sun and a pleasant temperature.  Our city tour consisted of our guide taking us through the city and then leaving us to find our own way back to the train station.  Slightly daunted, but armed with our tour provided photocopied map, we struck out on our own and were rewarded with beautiful views of the Mediterranean Sea.  At this point, things went quickly downhill with the onset of torrential rain.  Oh we had our jackets of course, but I’m talking about a heavy, persistent downpour.  We sheltered briefly in the foyer of a house, urged in by a young woman, but lulled into thinking the rain was easing up a bit we set out again.  I won’t tediously detail our wet trek but we did manage to encounter a lovely public garden (fortunately at a short lull in the rain), and took shelter, again at the urging of a kind woman, in the entrance to a grand looking building who’s full purpose we never did find out.  By the time we made it back to our rendezvous point we were soaked through, our shoes were squelching and now that our time in the city was coming to an end, the sun appeared again.

DSC00186

Yes, this is a giant thumb statue that we stumbled upon outside the art gallery. It’s hard to tell the scale, but the guard rope around the thumb is of a standard, waist high height. So . . . a really big thumb.

Although this post doesn’t really sound like I enjoyed my first encounter with Morocco, it was actually quite the adventure and I’m glad we had it.  I really have no insight into Morocco’s capital city of Rabat as our time there was short and somewhat hampered by the inclemency of the weather.  But overall it seemed fairly pleasant and if I was every back in Morocco, I might consider trying to see more of Rabat.

DSC00177

A city wall, tropical foliage, and the grey sky of impending doom.

 

One thought on “First days in Morocco

  1. Thank you for sharing. You’ve done a great job of photos and explanations. mb

Leave a Reply

