Home

One of the things I look forward to when I travel is the food.  It is always an exciting adventure to try new things.  I’m kind of on the fence about the food we had in Morocco.  Some of it was amazing and some not so much, although that could be the case with any vacation.  In any case it was definitely an unforgettable experience with a range of different meals (and some very similar ones too!)

Our very first meal was in Casablanca.  We ate with out tour group (which we did quite a lot.  The meals weren’t all paid for by Intrepid, but we often all went together), and opted for the “Moroccan” seating, which was low tables surrounded by benches with pillows, and stools.  The meal set the tone for many meals to come – bland.  There’s no getting around it; much of the food was bland.  I’m not entirely sure if it was because people prefer to add their own salt and pepper or if we were getting tourist-esque seasonings.  I was expecting much more spiced food, not hot, just rich with spices.

My soup: tomato with chicken, chickpeas and noodles. Salt and lemon juice perked it up.

My soup: tomato with chicken, chickpeas and noodles. Salt and lemon juice perked it up.  And freshly squeezed lemon juice with mint which was ok.

The seafood platter my sister had. An assortment of fried items.

The seafood platter my sister had. An assortment of fried items.

Breakfasts (like our breakfasts in Greece) were mainly bread and cheese (always a laughing cow type) with the occasional olive.  I looked back through my pictures and I took a single picture of a breakfast in Morocco – astonishing, since I literally took pictures of everything else that I ate.  My sister didn’t take any pictures of breakfast either.  I know I had my camera in my purse at every breakfast we ate, so I’m not sure what happened.  But, I suppose as breakfasts go, bread and cheese isn’t bad.

Breakfast - bread, orange juice, tea, jam and butter.

Breakfast – bread, orange juice, tea, jam and butter, in Essaouira.

No post about food in Morocco would be complete without a word on the famous mint tea.  It is served everywhere – when you arrive at hotels, with meals, in shops, while waiting for anything, which was unfortunate for me as I don’t like mint or tea.  It was basically a plain tea with fresh mint steeped in it and a lot of sugar.  A lot.  More than a lot.  It became a bit of a joke on the tour because people kept asking for the mint tea without sugar, so there would be a pot with sugar and one without.

One of the best things we had was a surprise juice/smoothie in Rabat on our second day.  We were just trying to use up some time and we caught sight of this little place a half a block from the train station that had HUNDREDS of kinds of smoothies.  The menu took up a whole wall and was all arranged alphabetically.  So if you wanted avocado, you looked under “a” and it showed all the different drinks containing avocado, and so forth.  We had the most deliciously creamy almond and pistachio smoothie.  It was amazing.  (If you click on the picture of the shop and look at the bigger version, you can see the yellow menu wall just inside to the right of the door.)

DSC00188dsc00190

Moroccan salad – variations on a tomato salad.  I like tomatoes, so that was good.  It seems like lots of places have the “tomato” mix.  Like bruschetta or pico de gallo.  We had it all over the country.  I’m not sure if tomatoes were just in season or if they have them all year round specifically because everyone loves tomato salad.

dsc00172

dsc00533dsc00395

Stay tuned for part 2 where I’ll talk about tagines, couscous, unexpected meat experiences, and pizza.
And part 3 with Moroccan desserts, a seafood extravaganza, a cooking class and a food tour.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Food in Morocco (part 1)

Leave a Reply

